Books – brief reviews

Updated my reading list in the sidebar with some new additions.

The Greatest Show on Earth by Richard Dawkins.

An excellent lay-persons guide to Evolution. It is such a pity that books like this have to be written to try and counter-act the complete misinformation that the Creationists, ‘Intelligent Designers’ and other narrow minded religious people spout.

Evolution is a Fact, get over it people, especially the misinformed sheep that believe anything if it come from a pulpit.

The saddest thing about this book is that the people who really need to read it won’t, in fact most will flat out refuse to.

It should be compulsory for everyone on the planet to read at least chapter 1 of this book, it would be good if this was freely available to download and read (perhaps it is?), then no one would have an excuse to use the “just a theory” pathetic argument against evolution.

Deer Hunting With Jesus by Joe Bageant.

A book that tries to explain why so many Americans vote against their own best interests, and discusses the class war that no one else wants to talk about, the white American underclass. This book is written in a easy to read story-telling style but covers a lot of topics, including the American health care system (or complete lack thereof), Americans at War, and why so many Americans want a theocratic state ( a rather scary section of the book).

He does get on his soap box a few times, but overall an interesting and thought provoking read.

Blog Update

I have also added tw0 comments to my previous blog post, about my new Kindle eBook reader, that will be of great interest to any Australians who are considering buying one.

4 Comments

Filed under atheism, book review, books, christian right, creationism, Darwin, education, eReader, evolution, ID, religious, science, unemployed

4 responses to “Books – brief reviews

  1. 1minionsopinion

    I’m flipping my way through a library copy “Greatest Show” right now. It’s a good one and I think I’ll have to order myself a copy.

  2. I hit a bit of a bump in Greatest Show when he talked about cell invagination

  3. I want to read those books! Thank you! Great post!

    🙂

  4. the chaplain

    I agree with Sean about the bump in Dawkins’ book. Otherwise, though, I enjoyed it. People can read extracts from chapters 1 & 2 at Dawkins’ site. He’s also got a brief 3-minute video there.

    I hadn’t heard of Bageant’s book before. I’ll have to add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

