Chilli Chocolate Dinner Party

I normally blog about religion, politics, internet censorship, and other enlightening topics; but today I’m going to write about food and wine. One of my other loves.

The following is the menu from the dinner party I held last night (Sunday 6 June) We had a public holiday on the Monday – Queen’s birthday (happy birthday to the old bag πŸ™‚ and thanks for the day off)Β  – which gave me time to recuperate and clean up. Recipes are available in the attached file.

The evening also involved the tasting and judging of six wines, (as part of a Wine of the Year finalists judging) see below for the list of wines tasted and how they rated.

Prior to dinner, guests were served a dry Martini infused with chilli sugar syrup (see recipes) and nibbles, including chilli chocolate chips. As you can see, the theme for the dinner party was Chilli Chocolate!

Menu

Oz’s Chilli Chocolate Degustation Dinner

Cornbread a la Billy
w/ Chilli Butter or Garlic Butter

French Onion Soup Shots (check the photo!)
w/ Onion Tartlett
(no chilli or chocolate, but very intense flavour)

Chilli Chocolate Beef & Beans
Chicken, Bacon & Mushroom Stew
w/ Jasmine Rice
& Green Salad

Chocolate Chilli Cake
w/ Vanilla Ice cream

Coffee
w/ Double Choc-Chip Chilli Biscuits

Baileys
w/ Shaved Chilli Chocolate

Wines

Rothbury Estate Barrel Select
Hunter Valley
Shiraz 2007
13/20

Patrick T Reserve
Wratonbully Coonawarra
Cabernet Shiraz Merlot 2007
14.5/20

McLean’s Farm
Barossa Valley
Trinity Corner Red 2007
17.5/20

Mockingbird Hill
Clare Valley
Sangiovese Barbera Dolcetto 2007
11.5/20

Yarra View
Yarra Valley
Cabernet Sauvignon Shiraz 2006
14/20

The Gallows
Margaret River
Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2007
16/20

We all started scoring very low to leave room for improvement in the wine scoring, hence the low marks for the wines. One dinner guest was particularly low scoring, averaging only 13 for each of the 6 wines! But everyone was unanimous that the McLeans Farm Trinity Corner Red was the pick of the wines, with the Gallows Cab-Sav Merlot a close runner-up.

Sorry you couldn’t all have been here, perhaps some other time. Put your bids in now, I have a table setting for eight (including myself) and one guest bedroom (no teetotallers allowed πŸ™‚ ).

I’m now looking for a theme for the next dinner party, anyone submitting suggestions and recipes will go to the top of the VIP guest list. πŸ˜‰

I’d love to do a risotto for guests (Fiery might be interested in that dinner party!) but they are very labour intensive. I’m alsoΒ  not sure how to time risotto for a dinner party, if anyone has any ideas please let me know.

So big deal, I hear some of you say. A dinner party, what’s so great about that?

Well the thing is, without going into details, these days I’m on my own and to hold a dinner party has been another one of those things I’ve had to do to prove to myself (as much as to anyone else) that my life hasn’t completely fallen apart.

We all have obstacles in our lives, we all have things we’d rather not do, we all have things we’d rather have someone help us with. But in the end it all comes down to ourselves. If, individually, we don’t try and achieve we’ll never succeed. As the saying goes “nothing sucks seeds like a budgie with no beak”.

And if we fail, what’s the worst that can happen? We’ll have to order a pizza!

4 Comments

Filed under chilli, Chocolate, food, wine

4 responses to “Chilli Chocolate Dinner Party

  1. Sounds wonderful!! I hope you had a wonderful time!! You sure know how to entertain! Maybe the next party could be a potluck barbecue and everyone could bring a side dish and you could grill up some meat. Oh, I forgot it’s getting colder there. You’d better get on that right away!!
    Hey, I’m pretty easy to please so pizza would do just fine!!

    Hope your week rocks like your party did!!

    πŸ™‚

  2. That sounds like fun. I’m glad the chili was a hit. I must try it your way…with extra chili powder (I like it to make my nose run( πŸ™‚

    I think pizza would be a great idea! Have you ever bbq’d pizza, we did once and it was wonderful!

  3. Peter Tibbles

    Instead of a risotto, why not consider a pilaf? It’s far less labor intensive, with a similar result.
    I prefer a pilaf anyway.

  4. Onion tartlett looked interesting. Got a recipe? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

