85 too many!

And I thought 32 wives was a lot, seems like I underestimated the amount of wives a man could have.

Nigerian man to divorce 82 wives

A Nigerian religious leader with 86 wives has accepted an Islamic decree ordering him to divorce all but four of them, local authorities say.

A spokesman for the emir of Bida told the BBC that Mohammadu Bello Abubakar, 84, agreed on Saturday to comply with the decree.

Last week one of Nigeria’s top Islamic bodies, the Jamatu Nasril Islam, sentenced him to death.

The sentence was lifted but he was threatened with eviction from his home.

Earlier, Mr Abubakar had challenged Islamic scholars, saying there was no punishment stated in the Koran for having more than four wives.

“I have not contravened any established law that would warrant my being banished from the land… There is no law that says one must not marry more than four wives,” the AFP news agency reported him as saying.

“All my wives are with children and some of these are people I have married and stayed with for over 30 years. How can they expect me to leave them within two days?” he reportedly told local newspapers.

The former teacher and Islamic preacher lives in Niger State with his wives and at least 170 children.

Niger is one of the Muslim majority states to have reintroduced Sharia punishments since 2000.

Several people have been sentenced to death for adultery by Sharia courts but none of these sentences have been carried out.

You can be executed for having too many wives? Just the idea of having 82 Mother-in-laws is enough to put me off having that many wives.

Just another example of some of the more bizarre and violent nature of Sharia law. Why any country would allow it is beyond me. But more and more ‘Western Democracies’ are allowing Sahria laws to be allowed within their countries. WTF are they thinking?

7 Comments

Filed under atheism

7 responses to “85 too many!

  1. “WTF are they thinking?”

    They’re not. They’re being respectful of other’s beliefs.

  2. A Catholic would never do THAT! LOL!!

  3. This would explain the email I got from a Nigerian cleric asking that I open my house to his wives to get them out of the country. From the poorly written email, I understand that I get to keep 8 of them if I aid him.

    Sorry, mate. I won’t do it for a share of $100,000,000, I won’t do it for a share of your wives.

  4. the chaplain

    I daresay living with 82 wives would be easier than living with 82 husbands. 😉 I thought “excess” was supposed to be sinful?

  5. I wondered what happened to that guy. It just goes to show that a guy can push his limits to 82 wives before he gets threatened with the death sentence, and a woman will get the death sentence (not even a threat) if she pushes her luck and finds another hubby?! (In an Islamic society of course).

    I was never a fan of Shariah law.

  6. novparl

    Were you not?

    He’s 84 and still alive? Iron constitution. Obviously fit to survive, so let’s hope he has as many offspring as possible.

    Shame they saved those whales off Tassie. They weren’t fit to survive…..

Leave a Reply

