Never put your cashews to the side

Cashew nut snack, roasted and salted

Image via Wikipedia

A story of putting off, what you should do now.

Several years ago a dear old lady I knew absolutely enjoyed cashews, but rarely enjoyed them due to their cost and her lack of money. One evening she was having Chinese chicken and cashews for dinner at a relatives. As she found a cashew she would put it aside on her plate so she could enjoy all the cashews at the end of here meal.

Unfortunately she suffered “a bit of a turn” (a suspected mild heart attack) and had to be rushed to hospital, before she was able to finish her meal.

She never got to enjoy those cashews.

I was just watching “Cranford” (a period drama) and was struck by the plight of one of the main characters. This old lady had knocked back a suitor in her youth, finally after 30 years this suitor had resurfaced and she was ready to take that final step. Unfortunately he died after contracting pneumonia before they could finally get married. “never put your cashews to the side

So what does this have to do with atheism (which is what this blog is supposed to be about)? Well apart from being a good rule to live by, I wonder if perhaps it reflects on how some religious people live their lives?

Are religious people “putting their cashews to the side” – the hope of a blissful eternal life with God in some afterlife – without thoroughly enjoying the here and now? The wonders of this world and the amazing people in it should be cherished for what they are. Your life will end and you may find there are no “cashews” at the end of it. So why not accept what is true and here and now, live your life as if that is it, enjoy your “cashews”, BUT make sure everyone else can enjoy their “cashews” too.

 

I feel like I have been putting my cashews to one side over the last few years, perhaps it’s time to start eating them.

What about you, what “cashews” have you been putting aside?

Share this post :

Technorati Tags: ,,
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
20 Comments

Filed under atheism, atheist, religion

20 responses to “Never put your cashews to the side

  1. I guess because I lived a lot of my life with my grandparents and they are very much a “live life like you might die tomorrow” sort of people, I myself have lived like that too. Within reason, my husband and I do what we enjoy as often as we can. And too, maybe a lot of that has come from my being an atheist for so long and not believing in an after life for so much of my life.

    Money is usually the determining factor if we get to do the things we want to do, as I am sure it is with most people. 🙂

  2. I ate ’em, hell, I may have even smoked some!! LOL!!
    Great post, Ozatheist!
    🙂

  3. What kind of high do you get from smoking them?

    Raised Italian, I assure you I don’t put my cashews to the side. I was raised to appreciate and put great stock in the otherwise mundane, day to day things, of which food and drink are a large portion of that. Life is too short not to enjoy and savor all the little things. The wife calls this “extravagant”, as in a bad thing, an indulgence. I disagree.

    It’s not strictly a religious problem to put off gratification indefinitely, but it is something that they all preach. Even if there is an afterlife, that’s still no excuse for not eating any cashews now. Wtf?!

  4. PhillyChief, It was a joke about my past.

  5. I love cashews. I could eat them all day.

  6. Good analogy. I watched Cranford too – I wanted to see the old couple live happily ever after 😦

    My cashews are Terry Pratchett novels and red wine, and I enjoy them so very much.

    But I suppose it’s a matter of moderation – I would guess it is more common to be prodigal than to be hoarding; I also like the show ‘grand designs’ and am constantly amazed at how people aspire to live above their means and will do anything to make their ‘dream house’ come true – including going deeply into debt and borrowing from their parent’s life savings and so on.

    P.S. What is so good about cashews? Macadamias are superior in taste to all other nuts.

  7. > P.S. What is so good about cashews? Macadamias are superior in taste to all other nuts.

    +1 on this.

    btw, valid reason for leaving your favourite bit to th end of the meal: mmmm… aftertaste.

    Fully agreed on the sentiment though

  8. I thought about this post all day. I’m sorry about your friend. My medication is making my thinking blurry. I’m going to use my best friends china that she gave me, soon. I’ve been meaning to use it but I’m scared to break it. It is the cashews in my life. I’m not going to save it anymore. I’m going to use it while I can…..
    Thanks and take care!

  9. Orion77

    Disagree strongly with the heresy I’m reading here! Macadamia’s do not come close to cashews in taste shape or texture; not bad in shortbread biscuits, but otherwise, there is no comparison.

  10. So how did my post on not putting things off, turn into a battle between cashews and macadamias? 🙄

    After reading Tracey’s last comment I think I need to add a disclaimer to my post.

    Disclaimer OzAtheist hereby accepts no responsibility for eating disorders or allergic reactions, nut battles or breakage of fine china. 😕

  11. My cashews are enjoying my kids at each stage of their lives…I look around and they have changed! I have to remind myself frequently to slow down and just have fun with them.

    “Are religious people “putting their cashews to the side” – the hope of a blissful eternal life with God in some afterlife – without thoroughly enjoying the here and now?”

    I know that in my day to day life I am the impetus to enjoying the things around me…it has nothing to do with my spirituality or beliefs…except that I feel more spiritual when living life to the fullest!

    I hope you start enjoying your cashews soon!

  12. I enjoyed a cup of tea in one of the fine china cups today. I looked at the dishes and thought about using them. I’m one step closer than I was yesterday. She gave me this set before she passed away. Everything else, I just ended up with. I thought about her all day. Thank you for this post, Ozatheist!
    🙂

  13. arthurvandelay

    Are religious people “putting their cashews to the side” – the hope of a blissful eternal life with God in some afterlife – without thoroughly enjoying the here and now? The wonders of this world and the amazing people in it should be cherished for what they are. Your life will end and you may find there are no “cashews” at the end of it. So why not accept what is true and here and now, live your life as if that is it, enjoy your “cashews”, BUT make sure everyone else can enjoy their “cashews” too.

    Pascal’s cashews. I like it. 🙂

  14. The Everyday Atheist

    Loved the cashew story. Its the first thing I’ve read on your blog. The simplicity of it intrigued me enough that I had to read more of your blog. I like it.

    This is my cashew story:
    I belong to a group called the Red Hat Society (its for women over 50). We get together once a month and have lunch. Most of the time, I order dessert as my “lunch”. The others ladies usually comment on how they should do the same, but they never do. They are all Christians, I’m the only atheist!

    The Everyday Atheist

  15. @ The Everyday Atheist, welcome to the blog, thanks for the compliment.

    I know of the Red Hat Society, I’ve met some of them around town, at music and theatre events. Can’t really miss them when they are out in-force. 🙂

    Hmmm, dessert for lunch, now there’s an idea. Usually when I go out to dinner I’m so full after entrée and mains I never get to have dessert. This might become my new ‘cashew’.

  16. The Everyday Atheist

    Thanks for including me.

    “Usually when I go out to dinner I’m so full after entrée and mains I never get to have dessert.”

    My point exactly.

  17. Pingback: The Helicopter « Oz Atheist’s Weblog

  18. Pingback: Carnival of the Godless #112 - Daylight Saving Time Edition - State of Protest

  19. Julie paradox

    I once had a bottle of scent I really liked. As it got near the end I started to look for a replacement but couldn’t find it any more.

    I didn’t use that scent for ten years, because once it was all gone I wouldn’t be able to wear it any more.

    Finally I saw the flaw in this reasoning… I don’t have the scent any more, but I’m finding some new ones.

Leave a Reply

