The 30 Most Popular Atheist Blogs

Well I am quite astounded, checked Friendly Atheist’s blog today and find he has done a Top 30 Atheist Blogs list, and that my blog made the list!

I ranked 30, and think I’ve only just scraped in by the skin of my teeth, but it is nice to see that you, my readers, like this site enough that various ranking pages reckon it’s quite popular.

I was also happy to see some of my favourite blogs were also in the list. However, unlike Daniel Florien’s Top 30 Atheist/Agnostic/Skeptic Blogs which is a list of blogs he prefers, Hemant’s list is based on ranking popularity and is therefore somewhat less subjective, but, as he says:

Disclaimer: Ranking popularity is a way to measure quantity over quality.

I guess now the pressure is on to improve my quality, whilst maintaining a reasonable level of quantity.


So I guess I should list my top 30 blogs, these are taken from my RSS feed which gets checked pretty well every day, listed in alphabetical order.

[Note: Billy is a bit of a cheat when it comes to alphabetising πŸ™‚Β  ]

  1. (((Billy))) The Atheist
  2. A Division by Zer0
  3. An Apostate’s Chapel
  4. ARIANE SHERINE
  5. Atheist Homeschooler
  6. Atheist Revolution
  7. Black Sun Journal
  8. Collected Afilliation with Sentient Entities
  9. Five Public Opinions
  10. Friendly Atheist by Hemant Mehta
  11. Green-Eyed Momster
  12. Greta Christina’s Blog
  13. GrodsCorp
  14. Homologous Legs
  15. i get pissed
  16. Matt’s Notepad
  17. memeplex
  18. mgk: Machine Gun Keyboard
  19. nullifidian
  20. Pharyngula
  21. Poodles Place
  22. Possummomma note: since her personal problems her posts have been quite sporadic
  23. Sean the Blogonaut
  24. The Atheist Blogger
  25. The Frame Problem
  26. The Sisyphus Fragment
  27. The Summer Squirrel
  28. The Thinkers’ Podium
  29. WeHaveAVoice.net
  30. You Made Me Say It…

Some of these, and the ones I didn’t list, don’t blog very often (which maybe a good thing) and some don’t always blog about atheism, but I still like to read them and keep up-to-date with their blogs. Additionally my RSS feed is fairly new after the hard drive crash recently, so I’m still on the lookout for good atheist blogs. Feel free to recommend some in the comments.

Finally I’d like to say a big thankyou to all the people who visit my blog and espscially those that leave comments and hold great discusssions. If you haven’t in the past please leave a comment now and again even, if it’s just a few simple words of encouragement, or disagreement. Always nice to meet new readers.


After reading about Friendly Atheist’s list, I got very busy at work and have only finally got time to writing this blog reply. However I was able to scan several tweets and was aboslutley amazed to read about the fuckwit fundie that has blamed the tragic bushfires in Victoria on the passing of abortion laws. If you haven’t already heard about this please, sit down, relax,Β  take a deep breath, don’t have anything nearby that might get damaged, then read Pastor Danny Nalliah’s screed. I will blog more on this, as lots of other bloggers are.

17 Comments

Filed under atheism

17 responses to “The 30 Most Popular Atheist Blogs

  1. Heh, thanks for the recognition! Have to admit, your blog is a pretty good one.

  2. DB

    I have to say that (((Billy))) is a genius for using that as his blog name lol. A bunch of these “top blogs” have cropped up lately, looks like time for me to post a list.

  3. Again I see that I am in some good company. I do like Friendly Atheist’s methodology in his recent post on the top 30 by rank http://tinyurl.com/b7llj5 but there is certainly something to be said for preference.

  4. Hey I’m glad I made someone’s list πŸ™‚

  5. I protest this assault (is it really an assault?) on my blog! Really! I did not cheat regarding naming my blog. Honest (I just write with lot’s of parentheses (honest (that really is the reason))).

    Back when I was a newbie (pre-having-my-own blog, even), I took to commenting. When writing quickly, I write the way I think (as (((Wife))) would say, “In circles?”) which includes little asides (such as the one above). I started as “Billy (A Liberal Disabled Vet), then became “Billy ALDV”, then became Billy, then (thanks to the input of a still unknown blogger (it was more than a year ago which, in blog terms, is centuries) the parentheses were added. They are not (repeat, NOT) a plot to get to the top of the blogroll (I had no idea it existed when I named my blog). Not that I have a problem with being at the top of the blogroll, dontchaknow.

    Thanks for including me on you top 30 list. Much apreciated.

  6. AAAWWW thanks! I am like Sean, glad I made someones list.

    Yours was well deserved to be on a top 30 list. I always have to swing by. I’m not good at using feeds. I prefer to just check in sometimes.

  7. arthurvandelay

    (Takes a bow, as one of the bloggers who doesn’t blog very often.)

  8. philosophress

    Hi Ozatheist
    I used your advice to create a new blog πŸ™‚ I’ve just put up a bit of a rant about pastor nalliah and his anti-abortion campaign.

    There’s just one thing. How do I go about getting visitors?

  9. I am honored and so glad to have met you. I was worried about you and the fires. I heard about them on the news yesterday. I emailed you and Half Rabbit. He said that they weren’t close to him and I think you are close to him so, I’ll stop worrying! You are definitely on my favorites list and in my list of Favorite Thinkers on my blog!! I always enjoy coming here for the truth!

    Congrats and Thank you!

    πŸ™‚

  10. the chaplain

    Thanks for including my blog in your list. I’ve have to work harder, because I’m in some pretty good company there.

  11. @ philosophress, I have sent an email with some suggestions, and I will shortly blog the same. Please leave a reply on the blog post titled ‘Blogging Tips’ and feel free to include a link to your new site.

  12. Db0

    Hey I’m glad I made someone’s list

    The feeling is mutual πŸ™‚

    I felt very ignored until now πŸ™‚

  13. Holy Shit! I didn’t know you were THAT famous. Have I been treating you with the appropriate amount of respect? WOW. I know somebody that made the same list as PZ Meyers. *fans self*

    πŸ˜‰

    Ya work hard at it, you deserve the credit! Congrats! πŸ™‚

  14. @ TraceyTreasure, I’d heard of http://turgidstultiloquy.wordpress.com/ and read it occasionally.
    Hadn’t heard of http://boremetotears.wordpress.com/ Just had a look, !!! another atheist home-schooler !!! how many are there of you??

    @ Fiery, perhaps you haven’t been treating me with the right respect. Next time we meet you can kiss my feet. LOL πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the compliment, though I still have no idea how I managed to get on that list. There are heaps of other blogs I thought would be more popular than mine, and heaps that I think are more eloquently written.

    @ all, once again I’d like to thank everyone who frequents my blog, especially to the people who leave comments. It’s the interaction that makes it all worthwhile.

  15. Thanks for including me on your list! Damn, I’m sorry to hear that you’ve got your own little Pat Robertson clone over there, and really sorry to hear about the fires.

  16. Hey thanks for the mention! I haven’t written recently due to some personal problems, but I’ll be back up and running before too long.

Leave a Reply

