More Atheist Advertising

billboard The Colorado Coalition of Reason, or COCORE, will be placing billboards around Denver and Colorado Springs during November and December, with the slogan:

“Don’t believe in God? You’re not alone.”

The article in The Denver Channel calls it a “controversial billboard”. However, the stated aim of the billboard is:

“To let non-believers, free-thinkers and atheists know that they are not alone, especially in a country like ours that is predominantly Christian.”

Don’t know how anyone could think that is controversial, but of course the religious have come out decrying it. The statements from two religious people in the linked article are (I struggled to find a word here that describes them), well just read them for yourself. Here’s two snippets:

If they don’t believe in God, how do they believe they came about?

If we ignore the evidence for gravity or the Creator, that’s really dangerous

thestupiditburns

As usual atheists are still being discriminated against

COCORE, also wanted to put up signs in Fort Collins and Greeley, but a billboard company there refused to carry the message.

But the religious can put up billboards, signs and adverts wherever they like and no one bats an eyelid, and they have the gall to say they are being oppressed.

being_oppressed

Well that’s my fourth sixth blog in the last 24 hours (hope you read them all), I guess I should get a life.

Share this post :

10 Comments

Filed under atheism, atheist, Atheist Bus Campaign, billboard

10 responses to “More Atheist Advertising

  1. scaryreasoner

    Cool Plognark graphic.

  2. Good job, I am enjoying them. Back on deck soon

  3. It seems that our very existence is threatening to Christians. That is scary.

  4. tenquid

    These ad campaigns are very important. It has to be okay to say you aren’t religious. I’m a 3rd generation atheist and I had to “go along to get along” when I was a kid to avoid being shunned and/or beaten. But I’m not a kid now and I’m very matter-of-fact about being an atheist.

    I know there are many more out there who don’t believe, yet don’t feel comfortable saying so.

    And it’s in the believers’ interest to keep us quiet. So don’t be shy, speak up for yourself. Speak up for us all.

  5. Metro State Atheists

    Thanks for your support!

  6. All I know is that if there is a God, he made me an Atheist! I love the billboards! I am enjoying all of your posts, I think they’re all great! Thanks for your comments, too!

  7. novparl

    “England, with an established church…is among the least (religiose countries)”

    The God Delusion (Der Gotteswahn) p.61 (Pom edition, if different from upside down edition)

  8. AV

    I knew that. It’s a point Dawkins makes often, observing the same of other European countries with established churches, such as the Scandinavian countries.

  9. skepties

    Fantastic initiative! And nice graphics from you. Keep it up!

  10. I’m a Christian, but I advocate fairness. Everyone ought to be given a fair chance. I pity many Christians are offended by Atheists. Fear of facing questions raised is prolly what triggers this discriminatory remarks against Atheists.

    If only people can have greater capacity for objectivity and understanding.

Leave a Reply

