Papal or PayPal

Is it just me or a sign of the times?

Reading an article today, in a food and wine magazine, about Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Châteauneuf-du-Pape is a wine region in France and the name loosely translates as “New Castle of the Pope”. Wines from this region, predominately made from Grenache, Shiraz and Mourvedre, often carry the Papal seal (crossed keys of St Peter) embossed on the glass on the neck of the bottle.

So much for the wine lesson, what was funny was when I read the text

… carry the Papal seal …

du-Pape_cuvee vatican

I read it as:

… carry the PayPal seal …

paypal_logo

Some sort of Freudian slip? I don’t know what that says about me, but it brought a smile to my face when I realised what I thought I’d just read.

I know PayPal is trying to get a slice of various companies, but I can’t quite see them buying out the Vatican, or maybe they want an endorsement from the Pope?

Oh, well, now to finish off that bottle of Penfolds Bin 2 Shiraz Mourvedre sitting on the bar. Cheers folks.

Technorati Tags: ,,,,

5 Comments

Filed under humour, PayPal, pope

5 responses to “Papal or PayPal

  1. psychodiva

    seems to me to be a natural reading of the word 🙂

  2. I think PayPal is God! 🙂 Nice of you to visit me! I don’t think my avatar will show up since you’re using wordpress. Oh well, I struggled with what tattoo to get. I came real close to getting the eye. I went with a sun and moon combo.
    Have a great weekend!! See you around!! 🙂

  3. Welcome Traceytreasure, yep, your avatar didn’t show up, you’ve ended up as a blobby green three-eyed monster (nothing personal). People will have to visit your site to check your proper avatar out.

    So where is your tattoo?

  4. He he he I love my Paypal

Leave a Reply

