Atheist 13 Meme

AV at Five Public Opinions has nominated me for Nullifidian’s Atheist Thirteen meme, and I thought I’d managed to elude this one? If you want to play too, just copy the questions below, and nominate three bloggers who you would like to participate.

Q1. How would you define “atheism”?
Atheism is a lack of belief in a god, gods or the supernatural.

Similar to FPO but with the added lack of any evidence in the supernatural.

Q2. Was your upbringing religious? If so, what tradition?
I was raised C of E in England (though don’t remember that) and then Baptist in Australia. My folks were quite active in a particular Baptist church, our family was even interviewed on TV for the opening of the new church. I actually got quite involved in religion for a while in my mid-teens – even got baptised.

Q3. How would you describe “Intelligent Design”, using only one word?
Deceitful

Q4. What scientific endeavour really excites you?
I think nanotechnology is pretty cool, but I’ve always been fascinated with space. So any scientific endeavour that gets us further towards putting people on other planets gets my attention.

Q5. If you could change one thing about the “atheist community”, what would it be and why?
Getting them to join.

Religion’s biggest trick is getting lots of people to join. Here in Australia there is a political party which, whilst not strictly atheist based, is secular. They can’t even get 500 people to join so they can be classed as an official political party! 

To seriously make an impact on society atheists need to be identified within some sort of group(s). Which sort of goes against the whole atheist thing as they only thing we really have in common is a lack of belief in god(s).

Q6. If your child came up to you and said “I’m joining the clergy”, what would be your first response?
I’d be like, child? What Child?

Hypothetically speaking, I’d be astonished.

Q7. What’s your favourite theistic argument, and how do you usually refute it?
It would have to be the one about morals. “God is the absolute moral authority.”

I ask them, if God didn’t exist would they suddenly rape, steal, lie, and murder? (if they answer yes, I quickly back away) Then I tell them to read my FAQ 1

Q8. What’s your most “controversial” (as far as general attitudes amongst other atheists goes) viewpoint?
I guess my most controversial viewpoint is that religious schools should not exist. However I usually temper this argument and say that they can exist but they shouldn’t get any money off Government. I also think religion should not be tax exempt.

disagreement-hierarchy

Not so much a view point, but one of the other controversial  things I sometimes do is go for the lower end of the hierarchy of disagreement.

 

 

 

Q9. Of the “Four Horsemen” (Dawkins, Dennett, Hitchens and Harris) who is your favourite, and why?
Dawkins. Apart from being quite an amazing scientist I like his calm manner in interviews. It was his video “the root of all evil?” and book “The God Delusion” that really opened my eyes, and part of the reasons I know blog.

Q10. If you could convince just one theistic person to abandon their beliefs, who would it be?
Like someone else who’s done this meme (forget who I’ve seen so many the last several days): The Pope. He is so influential to so many people, imagine if he turned around and said it was all bunk, there is no god, no one needs to be a Catholic.

Now name three other atheist blogs that you’d like to see take up the Atheist Thirteen gauntlet:

I don’t know if there are any of my usual suspects left who haven’t been tagged, so I’ll tag:

CASE

ozfreethinker

Summer Squirrel

Technorati Tags: ,,,

10 Comments

Filed under atheism, atheist, blog, meme

10 responses to “Atheist 13 Meme

  1. half rabbit

    Would that party be the “Secular Party of Australia” and is this where you join? http://www.secular.org.au/membership.php

  2. I’ll take credit for the pope. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tag. See my blog…..

  4. half rabbit, yes
    Poodles, Ha, of course, thanks for reminding me
    Summer Squirrel, done

  5. Matt

    I must suggest to all Christians and Atheist to read this book “The End of Reason” by Dr. Ravi Zacharias. This book forces the reader’s mind to do the critical thinking that is so lacking in Christianity today. It should also be considered required reading for the atheist who has never really looked at a logical argument for the existence of God, or the Christian who has never really critically analyzed his own faith. Check out more information on The End of Reason here

  6. Ouch – tags like that hurt man, Ill have to get back to you in a few days. I am presently under heavy fire from religious nuts (probably my fault – hell, can’t help it).

  7. Memes are up on blog – dont know anyone else to tag.

  8. The Atheist Blogger has just posted his version of how a fundamentalist christian would answer this meme. very funny and very true

  9. AV

    We need to start up a “Blog Like A Fundie” day, methinks.

  10. Top idea AV, I’ll have a think about it
    wouldn’t it be funny if we did a Carnival of the Godless with all posts being from a fundie perspective?

Leave a Reply

