I’m back….

I’m back from my lovely, and very warm, holiday in Adelaide. With maximum temperatures over 35O C each day (and still) and temperatures above 30 even at midnight it made for some very warm times. Hanging around Fringe Festival events, such as “The Garden of Unearthly Delights” till the wee small hours was quite pleasant weather wise. The bars were doing a roaring trade (I did my bit to maintain their profits).

I decided not to get on the net whilst I was away, I had some spare time on Sunday, but thought I would prove I’m not addicted by staying away from blogging while on holidays.

Since I’ve been back I’ve been catching up on work and reading some of my favourite blogs (I didn’t comment on them, but if you’re on the list on the right, expect I’ve had a quick read). Good to see a few of you discussing the Vatican’s new Sins.

sins

The Catholic Church possibly the world’s richest corporation and they want to make obscene riches a sin?

I took my camera, but as usual forgot to take many photos. The Northern Lights (light projections onto the old buildings on North Tce – museum, library, etc) were quite specky, my photos don’t do it justice. In this picture the statues aren’t real they are projections on columns.

northern lights

The Persian Garden is in the amphitheatre at the Adelaide Festival persian garden Theatre complex. This is normally just hard concrete stairs to sit on. For the festival they built platforms, threw down a few rugs and cushions and at night had bands and DJs. It was a great atmosphere and I had a top night there listening to Batucada Sound Machine, a samba / reggae / hip-hop band with a huge sound – six percussionists and a three piece horn section.

Just for Thinker here’s some photos of the Popeye on the river Torrens, note the sign?

popeye and fountain

popeye and sign

popeye up close

Well that’s all for now, if you ever visit Adelaide try and go at this time of year and catch the many festivals. If you are currently in Adelaide “do yourself a favour” and check out ‘The Northern Lights’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adelaide, fringe festival, holiday, popeye

Leave a Reply

