Tagged

I knew this was coming when I read Thinkers’ Podium blog recently. When you frequent each other’s blogs and see one of them start a meme, you just know eventually you’ll get tagged. So, not surprisingly, I’ve been tagged by AV at Five Public Opinions with the “Give three reasons why you Blog” meme. I’m always slow in responding to these memes, maybe because it’s more personal, introspection has never been one of my strong suites. Anyway here goes:

Firstly, I’d like to point out I partly answered this back in October 2007, when I’d been asked “why do you do it?“. My answer back then, and still is, is:

to reduce the negative impact religion has on everyone’s day-to-day lives

So on to the three reasons:

  1. To have a voice. I’ve always been a bit opinionated, and happy to jump in with my ‘2 cents worth’. My opinions have not always been well thought out, or based on facts, but I still like to say them. Which leads to point 2.
  2. To improve my thinking and writing skills. Both Thinker’s and Five said much the same thing. The more I blog, and comment on other blogs, the more I have had to really think about what I am saying, and, where possible, research my material beforehand. I’m still learning, and realise I may never reach the high level of essay writing I see on other blogs, or comments I see here and elsewhere, but I’ll keep trying.
  3. To get the message out there. I first started this blog (just over 5 months ago) as a bit of a ‘something to do’ exercise. I wanted to assist, in some way,  in the promotion of atheism. Since I’ve been blogging I’ve come to realise how much sway the religious community has over so many things. I’ve always been of the opinion that ‘the more the merrier’ and think that the more atheists speak out, the more it will be realised how many of us there actually are. This, I hope, will lead to my original answer from why do you do it.

OK, now to the formalities:

Rule 1) List three reasons for your blogging.

Rule 2)  List the rules.

Rule 3) Tag three others with the meme.

In accordance with rule three, I tag WineyMomma, Australian Atheist and Fiery.

I know not everyone is into memes so there’s no obligation to commit to this tag. Though, I’d be interested in Winey’s answer as I don’t think her motives will be as similar as Thinkers’, Five’s, Australian’s, Fiery’s and mine.

Technorati Tags: ,,,
2 Comments

Filed under atheism, atheist, blog, meme

2 responses to “Tagged

  1. Thanks oz!!! You know me I love a good meme! 😉

  2. Pingback: Why do YOU blog? « Wineymomma and the monsters

Leave a Reply

