Fortune Cookies

Yesterday I was reading a few of my favourite blogs (some of which I hadn’t read in a while, there’s so many it’s hard to keep up) when I came upon Fiery’s story ‘first fortune cookie of the year’. Fiery asked people to submit their recent, or most memorable, fortune cookie saying and, of course, some people posted the popular ‘Confucious Says’ ones.

Having the memory span of a confused goldfish, I, as usual, couldn’t remember any fortunes. However, I did remember seeing a box of them in the supermarket the other day, so on the way home I purchased a box.

Fortune Cookies This is a picture of the front of the box, it contains 100gm of cookies (about  15 cookies) and costs $3.30 at my local Coles (2nd largest supermarket/grocery chain in Australia).

Fortune CookieThis is what a cookie looks like, its about 4cm * 4.5cm in size and contains a small strip of paper which has the ‘fortune’ written on it.

The following is what is written on the back of the box and it contains an interesting history of the fortune cookie:

Happiness is a Kong Foo Sing Fortune Cookie

For six centuries, the Han Dynasty of Northern China had celebrated a good harvest with their August Moon Festival.

In the 13th and 14th centuries, their Mongolian rulers (or Yuan Dynasty), were concerned that they might be overthrown by their subjects. So great did they see this threat, that they sent a Warlord to every village to confiscate all the people’s weapons. This act resulted in exactly what the Mongolians feared – a plan of revolt. The Chinese chose the 15th of August as the day the uprising would commence and, under the guise of celebrating harvest, cakes were sent around to all the people. Inside the ‘Moon’ cakes was a message indicating the time the revolt would take place.

This historic event inspired what is now the very happy tradition of breaking open a delicious Kong Foo Sing Fortune Cookie and finding a message of very good fortune.

I have just opened my first one and this is what it says:

Those who admire the freedom of birds have never built a nest

The cookie tasted nice, but I have absolutely no idea what that fortune means. Any Suggestions?

I reckon it’s more of a ‘wisdom’ than a ‘fortune’, but hey, what do you expect for $3.30?

I’ll open one each day and post the ‘fortune’ in the comments, I wonder if any of them will come true?

Any favourite fortunes foretold to you, that you’d like to discuss?

technorati tags: , , ,

7 Comments

Filed under atheism, fortune cookie

7 responses to “Fortune Cookies

  1. The funniest story I have about a fortune cookie has little to do with the strip of paper inside.

    Hubby monster and I were living in North Dakota at the time and being a southern girl I was not enjoying the sub freezing temps. I had just found out that they were canceling the program that paid me at the school I worked and I was feeling really home sick. So I was in a pretty low-nobody-likes-me kind of mood. Hubby monster decided we should go get Chinese food to cheer me up. We had a nice meal and enjoyable conversation. When the fortune cookies came I picked one and opened it to find that there was absolutely no slip of paper inside. I figured that a bus was probably going to hit me on the way out to the car since I had no fortune and no future!

    Lucky I have a good sense of humor, huh?

  2. WM, now that is funny. Obviously, and fortunately for you, that fortune didn’t come true.

  3. AV

    Quit ya mopin’ and crack one open!

  4. “Those who admire the freedom of birds have never built a nest”

    We are often envious of others success or the good things in their life. Some are more talented than us: they can sing, dance, act, paint, or have technical knowledge/ expertise that is beyond anything we are capable of. So we look at them and wish that we were them, that we could do what they do. But we don’t see the hours and hours, day after day, year after year that they have invested in that talent/skill.

    Look at gymnasts in the olympics. To be able to hold yourself suspended like a T on those rings is an amazing and beautiful thing. We don’t see the blood, sweat and tears that went into that skill.

    Man watched the birds soaring high in the heavens and wanted to join them. From the time of the Greeks when they told the story of Icarus to Leonardo DaVinci who actually drew up plans for a flying machine. Yet imagine the difficulty of weaving a nest out of twigs, string, hair, fur, whatever that must shelter your eggs and keep them at the right temperature for them to survive. All from stuff you must **find** somewhere and not buy at the local Coles.

    We now have the ability to fly by developing the technologies necessary, but we cannot do as the birds do and simply flap a pair of appendages and make for the heavens. However, we have a brain that no evolution will ever give them. We have lost our chance to embrace the clouds and gained so much more in the process.

  5. Karen

    I’ll admit, when I was in my 20’s, occasionally skipped a birth control pill, and was paranoid about becoming pregnant, I read the fortune first. If it mentioned having a family, I didn’t eat the cookie. 🙂

  6. seantheblogonaut

    Fiery, comprehensive answer as always 😛

  7. Very nice answer yesterday Fiery.
    Day 2 Fortune is:
    Share your happiness with others today

Leave a Reply

