Love – not just for Christians

Over at wineymomma, she reviews a book called ‘The Story of the Other Wise Man’ by Henry van Dyke. Whilst I was not particularly interested in the review or her comments (no offence wineymomma) I did like the Love Quiz she discovered during research on Dr. Leo Buscaglia. As I said in a comment on her blog, these are questions everyone should consider, no matter if you are religious or not. Here’s the quiz:

Love Quiz

Asking yourself questions and answering them honestly is a good path to self-knowledge. In keeping with this idea, I’d like to propose a few end-of-the-day questions for each of us . . .

· Is anyone a little happier because I came along today?

· Did I leave any concrete evidence of my kindness, any sign of my love?

· Did I try to think of someone I know in a more positive light?

· Did I help someone to feel joy, to laugh, or at least, to smile?

· Have I attempted to remove a little of the rust that is corroding my relationships?

· Have I forgiven others for being less than perfect?

· Have I forgiven myself?

· Have I learned something new about life, living or love?

. Have I gone through the day without fretting over what I don’t have & celebrating the things I do have?

If you are not satisfied with your answers, take heart. Tomorrow you get to start all over again! If you will it, this is one quiz you can never fail.

Whilst I can see a religious person, like wineymomma, could view these questions having religious overtones, and some may even see them as being all ‘new age’, I think we could all benefit by considering them.

I know at least one person who will be telling me I should try and answer Yes to all these questions 😉

How many did you answer YES to today?

technorati tags: , , , , ,

1 Comment

Filed under atheism, atheist, love, religion

One response to “Love – not just for Christians

  1. Oz-
    The main thing I liked about the questions after all the love, was the fact that they appeal to people of all types. If everyone took the time to answer these questions the world would be a much more comfortable place for all of us. I really like the idea that if I drop the ball today there is always tomorrow!

    WM

Leave a Reply

