‘O come all ye faithless’

It seems Borders bookshops are giving away a Christmas card with the message ‘O come all ye faithless’ when you buy Dawkin’s ‘The God Delusion’ book (this report come from Britain, I’d be interested to know if its happening elsewhere).

Surprise, Surprise, this has caused some controversy, but this time there are people on both sides of the fence condemming the controversy. Thanks to feeding the fish and friendly christian for the heads up.

There’s a small picture of the card on Borders UK site, if you are interested

Technorati tags: , , ,

7 Comments

Filed under atheism, atheist, christmas

7 responses to “‘O come all ye faithless’

  1. Oz-
    Thanks for visiting me!

    I posted a comment on one of the links you gave but would like to add it here too. I think this card is brilliant because as a Christian I am called to be loving and grace-filled to my neighbor. If we send out the call for the “faithless” to come then we are getting a chance to share the love and grace that we have been given. I think the volume of the extremist in any religion is amazing. Sometimes I forget that if I sit by and don’t say anything that I am part of the problem.

    By the way I would like to add you to my blogroll if that’s okay with you!

  2. So wineymomma, you have managed to turn what some see as an anti-Christian card into a Christian card, I admire your thinking.

    Feel free to add me to your blogroll, its yours anyway (this goes for anyone else who wants to add me to their blogroll). Just remember that we will often have to agree to disagree.

  3. Absolutely-as long as we can do it respectfully!

  4. Just remember folks, as far as I’m concerned; while people should be respected, their beliefs don’t have to be.

  5. seantheblogonaut

    I am of the opinion that while this time of year is called Christmas, it has been celebrated by other religions and peoples as a time togetherness and hope. We should really move beyond the religious aspect and to the human. Showing care concern and friendship to those less fortunate, to those close to us.

  6. I actually think it’s quite funny. I’d love it if someone gave me a card like that.

  7. I thought Christmas was a secular holiday. These Christians are just picking fights now…

Leave a Reply

