Why do I do it?

I’ve asked myself this question, but today dogbarber asked me.

With a little help from the atheistforums, I replied and provided some examples. The bottom line is (what could be my new favourite quote)

I’d like to reduce the negative impact religion has on everyones day-to-day lives.

One of the problems I perceive is that religious people don’t think there are any negative impacts.  I’m going to have to carry a big list around with me.

 

Technorati tags: , , , ,

3 Comments

Filed under atheism

3 responses to “Why do I do it?

  1. Pamela

    “I’d like to reduce the negative impact religion has on everyones day-to-day lives.”

    I couldn’t agree more.

  2. AtheistEngineer wrote:

    I mean, if your best friend kept smacking himself in the face because he thought there was a spider there, when in reality there was not, would you think it was a waste of time to attempt to prove the spider does not exist?

  3. “One of the problems I perceive is that religious people don’t think there are any negative impacts. ”

    You couldn’t be more right. I used to live in Utah, the Mormon state. Mormons teach in their churches that no people but the Mormons can be truly happy. They say, people think they are happy but deep down they’re not. So how do I even begin to try to convince them I am happy, not to talk about try to convince them that many of them are not truly happy? My only answer is that we should make sure we teach children science and reason. If we give children a good, sound education they will grow up able to discern between truth and fantasy. Of course, this idea of mine also implies I’ve given up on my generation…

Leave a Reply

