Kathy Who?

I’ve never heard of Kathy Griffin, but like PZ she is my  new favourite.

Her Emmy award speech has been censored because, amongst other things she said:

“a lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for this award. I want you to know that no one had less to do with this award than Jesus.”

It’s about time someone said that, rather than the usual glib “I’d like to thank god for this award” even though they’ve probably never been in a church and aren’t religious in any way.

What does worry me though is that the networks won’t be showing her speech. Her remarks are to be censored because they are ‘offensive’.

Offensive to who? Not me, I applaud her and think her comment is funny.

Who the heck does Catholic League President Bill Donohue think he is? On what basis does a religious organization have to prevent something being broadcast in the media just because they don’t like it? I thought America had freedom of speech, democracy, separation of church and state, etc?

I think the network and award committee are being very weak, she said it, they should show it. Why do so many people worry about ‘offending’ religious people? They offend me all the time.

Leave a comment

Filed under atheism

Leave a Reply

